Home > Uncategorized > Why Blog?

Why Blog?

Hello, nice to meet you. I’m Adam.

In the posts that follow, I expect you to learn more about me. But more importantly, I hope you’ll learn more about yourself: or rather, how to become a better you. So…. Why blog? (Rather, why will I blog?)

6 Benefits of Blogging

1. To facilitate self-improvement

To write about something every day means to focus on that thing. And in order to have something to say, you have to do something–actually make a change–as well as read a lot and think a lot. Become obsessed, in other words.

Blogging will aid me in focusing my energies on a few things, push through when my focus would usually have long been lost, and actually make gains, rather than remaining vague and spread out in various directions. This is why for the week after this one I will be writing solely on (and focusing solely on)  organization.

2. To help other people

Writing in such a way that can be helpful to others is integral to my vision for this blog. Right now I’m not sure if I’ll accomplish this…

3. To facilitate learning

In order to self-modify, I’ll be doing a lot of learning along the way. And not just self-help per se: I plan on sharing some of what I read about fascinating fields like cognitive science and evolutionary psychology and, more generally, rationality.

4. To make friends

People who have done something interesting with their life, or are well on their way, are the people I would most like to befriend. People who care about shaping themselves to become the best they can be–people who care about helping others–people who can write (and thus think) intelligently–these are the people I want to befriend. Plus, it’s just fun to make friends in unusual places, not dictated by your geographical location.

5. To express myself creatively

Having something to say and saying it well–in a word, writing–is one of the most valuable skills to possess. Besides that, unearthing your creativity is one of the most inherently rewarding experiences you can have. I know that from my amateur–but rewarding–skill at improvising music on the piano (among other activities).

6. To chronicle my thoughts, accomplishments and life events

Having a journal is said to be one of the best happiness hacks. I don’t recall for what kind of usage of a diary that applies. I expect a record of what I’ve thought, done, been will bolster a positive sense of self.

In short: to focus, learn, leave a record, make an impact, make friends, express myself, and become a better me. But of course, everything hinges upon how I think of blogging. Allow me to explain myself.

What Blogging Means To Me

“Blogging…..  Isn’t that being self-indulgent?” To many people, blogging means sharing whatever comes to your mind about whatever you feel like writing about. It means randomness, it means self-consciousness, and it means self-indulgence. But that’s not what it used to mean, at least not for all blogs. Blogs like Scott H Young‘s have always been about being a tool for self-improvement—and, perhaps more importantly, for helping other people improve themselves along the way.

Estimates of the number of blogs in existence as of right now hover around 400 million plus (and that’s just English-language blogs). Only a tiny fraction ever have anything of a sizable audience. Everyone thinks they can do it–but most of them are just preaching to an imaginary audience as Ryan Holiday would say. Of course, some people only mean for their “blog” to be read by family or a small circle of existing friends and that’s okay. But my model of blogging is different, and I want to make that clear: this blog will be focused, it will help me, and it will help you.

I’ve heard it takes awhile to get a substantial following. I fully do not expect anything to come of it for up to 1 year, and I’m okay with that. I’ll be laying the groundwork, starting by posting every day. Eventually, some folks will look back in my archives, so these posts will not be in vain.

It Never Gets Easier Than Now

As Ramit Sethi says, people in their 20s don’t realize how good they have it in their 20’s. At 21 years old, I don’t have to worry about a large mortgage, or car payment, or feeding a family; I don’t have to worry about a career, or being a good husband or father. I have freedom, and I am thankful for that.

It’s the perfect time to begin dedicating yourself to personal development and start accumulating the rewards of compound investments. Compound investments are powerful as this over-simplified example shows: investing $10,000 once at just 6% per year will get you $43,000 by age 55 if you make that investment at age 30….  and $77,000 if you make it at age 20. I’m willing to bet personal development works the same way.

What I’ve left out in today’s post

This is mainly about the benefits, whereas I’ve left out (1) alternatives to attaining these goals, (2) rock-solid plans to maintain blogging in a  way I would call successful. Thanks to Melanie Heisey I started thinking about these things, but they’re beyond the scope of today’s post.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 4, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    Ha. Ha. Ha.
    I did lol. I also fixed it.

  1. August 3, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Leave a Reply

